Where are these HD Radios?

As an engineer it is almost shameful that it has taken me this long to check out HD radio technology (from the consumer end). None of the stations we manage are “HD”.  After seeing the WKSU facilities out of Kent, Ohio I left somewhat grateful we don’t. From what I witnessed, it takes a lot of work to manage 3 channels worth of HD at 7 different sites!

A good portion of the FM stations here in Cleveland run an HD-1 and HD-2 channel. It is evident effort has been put into this system. Lots of engineering work has been done to modify transmitters, purchase new transmitters, upgrade antennas, upgrade microwave systems, purchase more T1 lines — the list goes on.

So why is  HD radio now synonymous with the AM stereo debacle of the 60’s/70’s?  I blame two things. Lack of research, and lack of products available. This technology exists, but are the radios easily available? Absolutely NOT! I went out on the streets to try to find this coveted  “HD Radio”.

I heard great reviews about the Sony XDR-f1hd. At around $85-$99 it was at the upper limit of what I wanted to spend for a radio. I knew this was a good, if not great radio for analog and HD.

The first store I went to was of course, the Sony Styles store. Typically found in malls, the store as you would assume carries only Sony product. This should be a slam dunk, a Sony radio should be in a Sony store, right? I arrived at the store on a Sunday looking forward to walking away with a brand new HD radio. I soon realized HD radio was not to be found here. The store contained the typical Sony stuff like LCD TV’s and computers. Headphones and home theater gear – no HD radio. Not even the high end, 16.2 surround sound, 6000watt home theater system had an HD tuner in it.

Off to the next store on my short list; Best Buy.  Surely the electronics super store Best Buy would have at least 4-5 high priced HD radios. If not the one I was after, I could maybe be inspired to drop more cash on a feature full unit. I excepted to see a huge sign, with the HD Radio logo above a radio display area. Maybe wording like “Hear the Difference” or “It’s Time to Upgrade” to be printed on a display in front of a table full of radios.

After walking around the expansive store I found ONE radio. It was a Sony product. This unit was more of a boombox type, with a dock for an Ipod. Therefore, it was shoved between a shelf full of Ipod docking boomboxes. Even the brand new portable Insignia HD radio were nowhere to be found. After asking a store rep for assistance, I was led to the back of the store. More boomboxes minus the Ipod dock and minus the HD radio lined a shelf. Like the Sony store, the sales rep was aware of this thing called “HD Radio”, but not really aware of any products that contain it.

It took me 2 minutes to find nothing at the Walmart. I just had to look! Radioshack, well they may have had one just like Best Buy. I also wasn’t in the mood to buy batteries and cell phones, so I skipped.

So where is HD radio? You can “Discover It” from online retailers like Crutchfield or Amazon. Radios from different manufactures  exist. The selection is decent, better than decent if you are looking for car radios.

I find it a huge disappointment for all these radio stations. Upgrading their equipment, and paying Ibiquity licensing fees to use the technology.  Technology that is questioned by many, in its ability to be received as reliably as its analog counterpart. Yet, not much effort appears to have been put in to offer a healthy selection of radios at local stores.

I ended up buying my Sony HD Radio from Amazon for $85 + 1 day shipping.

Check out the review, next!

Leave a comment